Weinland Watch

Weinland Watch

New Blog: “AsBereansDid”

New blog just popped up. This one takes a bit of a different perspective, and has two things going for it, in my opinion:

  • It is from a former follower of Weinland who has now renounced Weinland and his teachings.
  • It debunks Weinland’s claims and prophecies from a Bible-based perspective.

Why is the second item a good thing, you ask? Because I have had a few people contact me to say “Good job!”, who then went on to enquire about my background (former member of WCG).

Then they inquired about my current beliefs. (Big mistake.) After I told them that I am an agnostic atheist with leanings towards panentheism, my “good work” they were praising me for suddenly became “of the devil”; either that, or they started trying to evangelize me and urging me to be “saved”.

In other words, this blog and the time and energy I have invested in it becomes worthless to some people (these were not emails from members of the CoG-PKG, these were emails from “everyday christians”) simply because I do not follow a christologically-based religion.

Well here you go, people, this one is for you: AsBereansDid is debunking Weinland too, from a perspective based on the canonical christian scriptures, and as a former follower of Weinland’s group. Talk about wielding a double-edged sword. 🙂

Written by weinlandwatch

April 20, 2008 at 8:31 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

30 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi. Enjoy your comments especially about theses people who promote a good story.
    I was a minister in a penticostal movement for 20 years. Now i want nothing to do with it , yes a bible rebuff is ok but still the problem is that it is the only reference source. My life has changed since my departure from the faith and am now referred to as ” the seed of satan “, have not decided yet if that is a promotion or demotion. Anyway keep up the good work , waited on the 17th with shoes on but disappointed again, so had a drink. Cheers

    m shellshear

    April 20, 2008 at 11:04 pm

  2. There are some of us who are proud of the label “demons” given us by Weinland. Depending on the person, I might be equally happy to be referred to as “the seed of satan”.

    Ekimks

    April 20, 2008 at 11:19 pm

  3. Hey I don’t mind being called a demon by Weinland.

    I look at it like this: If the only thing standing between a member of the CoG-PKG and seriously thinking about Weinland’s prophecies and teachings is their fear of the bible (whether they think of it as the only reference or not), then any site that debunks the biblical precepts of Weinland’s teachings with the bible itself (again, regardless of the fact that it is the only reference used), might have an impact, where my site would just be instantly dismissed, by some.

    weinlandwatch

    April 20, 2008 at 11:35 pm

  4. As I type the POPE is giving his FINAL address to the Nation. He will be off our land in 1/2 hr. I will never forget RW’s radio interviews saying, “JUST WAIT UNTIL THAT MAN GETS HERE – WAIT AND SEE WHAT HE SAYS, IT WILL BE THE DEVIL SPEAKJING” – WHAT NOW RONNIE????? I can only deduce that you are a jealous Anti-Catholic Bitter Human…I recommend you read Pope John Paul II’s – Thology of the Body. Its Brilliant. Hey WW, thanks for posting this, I really want him to see this because he has attacked my religion RELENTLESSLY!!! – I think he deserves to hear my rant!!!! Ronnie?? Im praying to the TRINITY for you as I kiss the Popes Ring!

    Steve

    April 21, 2008 at 12:19 am

  5. So………..still no devil horns on the Dagon hat?

    Who’da’ thunk it?

    weinlandwatch

    April 21, 2008 at 12:39 am

  6. It is just hard still for me to believe some of the people i knew in the cult still believes Ron’s every word. He turns things just so to fit his intinerary. Really surprised in Johnny H. of all people. He was such a kind man. How he is now i have no idea. Ron has so much money put in euros and who knows what else over seas. The money is suppose to be for the church and he is investing it to make a profit for the church. I want to ask if the world is at the end-time then what good is the money for the church? Are you sure it isn’t for Ron, Mrs. Gossip, and there children. I think so..
    I guess they just need our pity. All of them. Ron is so haughty and prideful and i feel bad he doesn’t see it. sad, sad, sad. I don’t want to sound mean becuase my intent is speaking truth..

    x-cog-pkg

    April 21, 2008 at 2:28 am

  7. Thanks for the information, X-Cog-PKG, there is precious little info available on the various elders of the church, and any information “from the inside” would be very helpful.

    Do you know when Johnny Harrell joined Weinland’s group? And if he was a minister in UCG prior to that?

    Also, does Johnny Harrell have a home construction business in Macon, GA? (This is what has been claimed by the church.)

    Finally (and I beg your pardon for asking all the questions, I hope you do not mind), do you have any idea what Johnny Harrell did, prior to his membership in Worldwide?

    Thank you very much for any information you can give us.

    weinlandwatch

    April 21, 2008 at 2:46 am

  8. WW. I don’t mind questions at all, if i can answer them. To be honest i don’t remember Johnny ever giving sermons until he hooked up with Ron and i don’t know how long he knew Ron before pkg.. On bussiness yes. That is my belief. Where? Honestly never dug deep enough on that. It seemed for some odd, and i mean very odd reason it was not to be shared among everyone. Most of the elders jobs wasn’t discussed. I really don’t know why the secret. I do know the ones who lost their jobs who were elders and they were helped out from someone in the church, so i guess Ron took care of that with tithe then gave them jobs in the churchl. That was a little common. If anyone can answer why jobs were a secret i would like to know? I know the trips the elders and Ron made was through tithes.
    I know this doesn’t help, but with Ron and Laura i have a mouth full.

    x-cog-pkg

    April 21, 2008 at 3:10 am

  9. I should add, it was only CERTAIN edlers that were Ron’s favorites he lavished trips with. The rest, well, you are on your own baby!!!

    x-cog-pkg

    April 21, 2008 at 3:12 am

  10. ww. Just read on the ELDERS you had written down. 3 of them i do not know. 6 i knew personally. 1 you do not have him on the blog. Now how could you leave one of Ron’s favorites out???? I am sure he will be disapointed.

    x-cog-pkg

    April 21, 2008 at 3:24 am

  11. Hi x-cog-pkg.

    I’ve been following the Weinland fiasco as well and have my own blog (you can click the link under my name to go there). I also have a few questions if you wouldn’t mind answering.

    Do you fear any retribution for talking? Do you have family members still caught up in COG-PKG?

    How did you come to be a member? Did you follow him from the UCG? Or were you recruited later or by one of his books?

    What was the turning point for you to decide to quit following Weinland?

    Anything of this sort and whatever else you feel comfortable sharing about Weinland’s operation and your personal story would be appreciated.

    Ekimks

    April 21, 2008 at 3:32 am

  12. Hi Ekimks,

    I will answer some of your questions but some i will not for now.
    NO i am no longer scared of Ron. Was i? You dang right i was. He is a cold scary person unless you are buds with him. And that is very few.
    Yes i still have family members in PKG. Can’t wait until we can have that Labor Day cookout Ron said we wouldn’t have. Then maybe that will be one clue he is a quack.
    No i was never in UCG. I was in way before his books. How i got in i really can’t tell now. EVEN to tell you how getting out would be obvious, becuase it was something others would not stand up and do in the Church to Ron and that is to speak out . More to it than that of course. But you get my drift. I know God opened my eyes finally when a light went on and something clicked. Something opened my eyes to see just what he was, if it wasn’t God then i guess for a moment i used my brain to think for myself.. Which Ron doesn’t like you to do.

    x-cog-pkg

    April 21, 2008 at 4:42 am

  13. x-cog-pkg
    Hope your family comes out of this OK. Please look over WeinlandWatch’s blog, my blog, and the others we link and if you can find an argument you think will persuade them please use it.

    Thanks for the info and anything else you decide to provide in the future.

    Ekimks

    April 21, 2008 at 4:54 am

  14. I was sitting here Ekimks and just thinking of some really silly things Ron had the members do. Too many to mention now, but one thing that i chuckle about is when he told us at one of the Feast sermons, that his members were suppose to “tattle” on other members who weren’t doing what he told us not to do. I felt like i was a kid. I can’t believe all the people thought this was ok. And yes they did tattle. Then in the next sermon Ron wouldn’t give out names but he would be out of town giving a sermon and say, “I just want you to know there is a brethren who is, example: smoking or what ever it would be, and he would say”when i get back i am going to have a talk with you and you better be shaking in your shoes or chair (whatever)” This guy yelled it! Can you imagine scaring people like that? That is his God like syndrome metality. Sick huh?
    I will check out your blog.

    x-cog-pkg

    April 21, 2008 at 5:08 am

  15. Have to remember this blog stuff and chat room is very new to me. I will have to work on it. Learn something new everydayl lol

    x-cog-pkg

    April 21, 2008 at 5:23 am

  16. I do have a question, Putting church money in overseas accounts i thought was against the law. Isn’t it?? It has been going on for a long time, it just doesn’t seem right.
    If anyone feels sorry for this man they shouldn’t. He takes money from people who are on a fixed income for peat sakes. While him and his wife go off on spending sprees in other countries. Wow what a life.

    x-cog-pkg

    April 21, 2008 at 5:28 am

  17. x-cog-pkg
    Over on the right side of this page is a column headed “Blog Roll” Underneath are the names of blogs link by Weinland Watch, just click on the names.

    Sounds like Weinland ran the congregation like a police state.

    As far as his moving funds overseas, I don’t know about the legality of that. There’s a lot of stuff you can get away with in the name of religion that would through you in prison otherwise. How did you find out? Did he brag about it in a sermon?

    Ekimks

    April 21, 2008 at 5:38 am

  18. No he didn’t say it in a sermon. There was not too many of us who new. I kept it hush. Infact most do not know. I talked with him about it to see if it would be wise for me to invest also for the future when the end-time comes. But he said for me it wouldn’t do any good. So figure that one out. It does him good but not me. So i didn’t get into it any further. I never told anyone in the church, becuase i don’t think i was suppose to. And i didn’t want him mad at me. I kept my mouth shut. I do know though of another who mentioned it once, I just kept quiet like a good follower,,

    He was the sherriff in UCG. I guess that would be like the church police.

    x-cog-pkg

    April 21, 2008 at 5:50 am

  19. No, you weren’t to invest. You were to tithe and offer heavily so he could invest. Sounds like he has his retirement all provided for. Has he as we suspect induced people to clean out their 401k retirement plans, add second mortgages, etc to fund “the work”?

    Sounds more like he was the KGB, which got the comrades to spy on one another. I guess “agape” is Greek for “tough love”.

    Ekimks

    April 21, 2008 at 6:19 am

  20. I honestly believe with all my heart he has a big reitirement nest for him and his family. Ron knew this couldn’t last forever so he needed something to fall back on when he flees and leave these followers in debt. The ones who really believe this has run up their charge cards, buy what they always wanted, knowing they won’t have to pay at the end time. Ron mentioned once in a sermon for brethren to pay at least as they can on house payments ect.. Thinking back now he wanted them to have more to give him. It is true about payng more tithe. I know some who paid their 10 % for tithe, the 10 % FOR feast< and another 10 for the church. Now that he said there will be no more feast i guess it will go to Ron now. That’s alot of money. He wants more before he leave them all behind. He is not dumb when it comes to being a con artist, Don’t feel sorry for Laura like some are. She is just as guilty. She loves her money. I have heard her boast a little to often.

    x-cog-pkg

    April 21, 2008 at 6:51 am

  21. It seemed you referred to Laura as “Mrs Gossip”. Any juicy tidbits she might have let slip about Ron’s scam?

    Also rumor is that Weinland has a house just across the Ohio River from Cincinnati in northern Kentucky, next to a golf course. Perhaps an upscale neighborhood. Any hints along that line you could pass along?

    The topic of Weinland’s motivation has been the topic of some debate.
    http://dontdrinktheflavoraid.blogspot.com/2008/04/more-thoughts-on-false-prophet-ronald.html
    The debate is whether it’s a big con game, or whether he really believes what he’s preaching. Your input seems to weigh towards the con game side, but is there anything you can think back on to think he really believes this nonsense?

    Ekimks

    April 21, 2008 at 7:05 am

  22. My wife and I can easily believe the comments made by the x-cog-pkg person, and others. We here in Cincinnati knew Weinland several years ago when he was just a minister in training, under Bob League. League was a dictator, very authoritative, very demanding. He would stand up there in the pulpit and thunder, “when you hear me speak, you are hearing God.” Many here in Cincinnati did not like League at all. League was eventually moved south and we heard later that he almost destroyed the church there. Tkach removed him from the ministry for awhile. He later went with Meridith, and is still with him as far as we know.

    The only time we would hear Weinland was his sermonettes. His character was being formed then, we can put it together now, and understand him better.

    We have been good friends with some here who followed Weinland, but naturally don’t see them anymore.

    We don’t know anything about Weinland buying a home in Ky, it’s just across the river from Cincinnati.

    We have ears to hear, we listened to Weinland’s sermon, and we know exactly where it is coming from!! The god of this world.

    greenhills48

    April 21, 2008 at 12:33 pm

  23. NO tidbit on scam.
    House is so gorgeous. They did a beautiful job with it.

    I honestly believe both is in Ron. He believes NOW he is truly above all earthlings and true Prophet of God and he likes his money. So there really isn’t just one answer for that one. He has both. Ron likes to have power. I guess like most people in Politics.

    I believe he is false and that just tears me up inside. Just to think what that will do to all my family and friends. They really believe him with all their hearts and minds.

    I will say though years ago i thought Ron was a very good speaker. That is the truth. He knew his stuff. The other ministers did not compare to Ron. Ron was very carismatic like Bill Clinton. But then the prideful, haughty came in and he just changed so much. Even couldn’t stand hearing his sermons anymore. It turned hateful in most part and said this person would die, that person would die, the world makes him want to vomitt. YOu know all that stuff.
    But no i have to say at one time i thought it did a pretty fair job.

    x-cog-pkg

    April 21, 2008 at 1:04 pm

  24. I just want to chime in here and say a big, big, thank you to X-CoG-PKG. I hope you can convince others in the PKG to come and join you here “on the other side” 😉 or to at least come and look at the blog.

    I am glad you are no longer afraid of Weinland, or of his teachings. You are a ray of hope to all of us, including those with family members still in the church, that it is possible for people to see the light and leave.

    Thank you for all of the information. It sheds a brand new light on Weinland, one that is necessary!

    weinlandwatch

    April 21, 2008 at 1:37 pm

  25. I would like to add that the followers in Ron’s church are really good people. At least for the most. Some, as in every religion has their way out thoughts. But i truly loved the ones in the church. Never could get close to Ron, Laura and a few others. I tried but something inside me felt different around them.
    I just pray, and pray deeply for the ones who are still in that they will see the light soon. Hopefully i can get closer to my family once they are out. They all love Ron, and my sister and her family moved to be closer to God’s family as they call it.
    I always have said to respect what ever other peoples beliefs are or no beliefs it is our choice. But in this church one doesn’t have a choice. You have to be of ONE mind and that is Ron’s mind. I am a true believer in Christ i am just without any church. But nothing can take my relationship away that i have with God.

    x-cog-pkg

    April 21, 2008 at 1:49 pm

  26. ww. I would like to try and get some x-pkg people on here too. I know a few who are still hurt and just can’t get over what happen to them. They even are wondering about God know. They feel stupid and are very hard on themselves.They are really smart people so that is what is bothering them. To be decieved like they were by Ron.
    They are having a hard time getting over the pain. Don’t forget we were all a very close knit family. Everyone on earth was wrong but our little family with Ron.

    x-cog-pkg

    April 21, 2008 at 1:56 pm

  27. X-CoG-PKG, if you want to get them to visit the blog, can I recommend that you have them visit this article first:

    Possible Psychological Effects After Exiting the CoG-PKG

    It has a lot of helpful information, and I found most of the comments rang very true for me, even though I have been exited from WCG for twelve years. I hope this helps.

    weinlandwatch

    April 21, 2008 at 2:00 pm

  28. X-CoG-PKG, for several years now I noticed my family members & friends in Ron’s cult began to act weird. Didn’t like to party or get together like we did for years. Now they all look and act like some one kick them in the stomach. The all look very depressed. Most of the people I have met from Ron’s cult that I don’t already Know seem cold and suspicious of me. He must really be brainwashing these poor shleps, and they are scared to death of someone or something. Possibly Ron?

    GK

    April 25, 2008 at 1:25 pm

  29. Taking into consideration the fear-mongering of the April 19th sermon, if church members really do believe Weinland has the “power” he professed (to make those who mock him suffer with sickness from the inside out), it is little wonder that church members now seem depressed. They are under the thumb of someone who is clearly and without a doubt placing fear in their minds, and telling them the world is going to end…….and yet, he keeps changing the date.

    Cognitive dissonance. Can’t run a Church of God without it!

    weinlandwatch

    April 25, 2008 at 1:35 pm

  30. I I’m a reformed WCOG member of over thity years. It took a lot of tears, and anger,anger at God for allowing me to be deceived by a con artist HWA. I ask God to show me what to do, where to go. It was there in front of me all along, but we never heard about Christ except at passover. It was always doom and gloom obey the sabbath and what ever you do don’t eat pork. I have gotten over most of the anger, it does hurt to see people I care about being manipuleted by scum like Ron. I am so happy to know some of you also see the light and not just DARKNESS.

    GK

    April 25, 2008 at 1:58 pm


Comments are closed.

