Weinland Watch

Weinland Watch

Children and the Church and the Culture of Death Part Two

After, or perhaps as a result of, it coming to light that there was a large number of children in the church, combined with Weinland stating in the announcements that teenaged followers were having difficulty observing all of the rules and regulations of the church, due in large part to reasonable interference from their parents, the church changed its stance on the admittance of underage teens. Weinland read extensively from this section of the website on the Saturday after it was implemented.

A recent commenter indicates that this may just be all for show, and that those underage members baptized prior to the church changing this rule are still members.

What must it be like for them, in Ronald Weinland’s church? The commenter remarks that a lot of the young adults are already married with children. On various ex-member boards, people say they did this in 1972 – 1975 (got married young and had kids) because they thought they were never going to get the opportunity to “later”.

John B., over on The Painful Truth website, has a personal article about what it was like, being a sixteen-year-old, waiting for the end of the world, in 1975. The title of the article is, appropriately:

Death Sentence

Written by weinlandwatch

April 21, 2008 at 5:05 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I grew up in that same era but I didn’t have the feelings you had, or at least not to that degree. I wondered if I would be able to grow up, get married, and have children. Now all of that has happened and now I am 60 years old. I’ve had a great life and I think your problems are with you. I still believe in the Bible, the Sabbath, and other things just like years ago. I do believe that Jesus Christ will return, maybe in my lifetime, maybe not but I still need to live my life obedient to God. NOT IN FEAR. I never did.

    Carolyn Walters

    April 28, 2008 at 3:11 pm

  2. Unfortunately Ronald Weinland and the members of the Church of God PKG appear to feel quite differently. And are living their lives according to those (false) expectations.

    As for my problems being with me, the only “problem” I have is that people are still being sucked in by Armstrongism—and being forced to give up to (and sometimes more than) 30% of their income. (While the “Levitical priesthood” live off of them.) That is the hallmark of most Church of God splinters, and I believe that it is inhumane.

    weinlandwatch

    April 28, 2008 at 3:15 pm


Comments are closed.

