Weinland Watch

Weinland Watch

If This is The Great Tribulation I Want My Money Back!

J, over at Shadows of WCG, has your month-end round-up on the various splinters. Thanks for the kind mention of WW, and I have to say, he’s not the first person to suggest I focus my energies on the other splinters, once Weinland’s finally implodes (if it does indeed implode, as all signs are indicating it might). I don’t know. Dealing with this one has been exhausting enough! 🙂

And speaking of everyone’s no-longer-favourite False Prophet, still no word from the Non-witnessing Weinlands. Time, and the sermon tomorrow, will tell for certain what effect the leaking of “plan B”, combined with Weinland’s further spiritualization of the first trumpet on the 19th, will have on the few hundred or so remaining members of the sect.

Oh and let’s not forget the “speedily slow deaths” all of Weinland’s mockers are destined for. As Mike from Don’t Drink the Flavor-Aid pointed out on AW recently, given Weinland’s track record for prophecy to date, if we keep mocking him, we should all live as long as Methuselah!

Written by weinlandwatch

April 26, 2008 at 12:38 am

Posted in Weinland

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hah, thanks for including the speedily slow deaths mention. I’m totally in favor of helping out with the other wcg splinters. You have my email address. Let me know if there’s anything i can do.

    Concerned

    April 26, 2008 at 3:23 am

  2. When wRONg(to borrow a phrase) Weinland finally bites the dust, will you move on to other targets. Maybe change your name to Wacko Watch. There’s seems to be no shortage of demigods and lunatics..

    GruUpWCG

    April 26, 2008 at 6:20 am

  3. Alright, put your seat-belts on kids. This will be a bit of reading.

    This is partly to WeinlandWatch and partly to everybody reading this.

    I’ve been keeping tabs on Ron for a while now. I just randomly came across him on a Google search about Revelation. I want to preface the rest of this by saying that I DO NOT attend the Church of God or any form of it and I’m not subscribing to what he’s saying. I am completely objective on the entire matter unless something happens WHEN he says it will happen in THE EXACT MANNER he says it will happen. But then that’s kinda how we all are isn’t it? In the minds of reasonable and unreasonable skeptics across the nation, he’s guilty until proven innocent. Fair enough.

    I would like to say that some of this seems kind of pointless to me. I mean dedicating a website just to point out the flaws of a man (and a few others) who may or may not be an end-time witness. I know he’s probably not, but hear me out.

    People are going to believe what they want to believe no matter what you say. I don’t mean to get in your face or anything, I know your intentions are very good. I mean if he’s a false prophet and declares himself as one, many thousands of people are going to be devastated and their faith shaken.

    But it seems your method of enlightening others is to show people (e.g. WWCoG members and so forth) the ugly truth in spite of this guy’s words; it will pretty much fall on deaf ears. I mean assuming that your target audience consists of those who already follow and believe and are “brainwashed” by Ron Weinland, in which case they are going to find some way to justify him anyway.

    In the other case that those aforementioned church members are NOT your only target audience, you need to find a more constructive way to help enlighten the world. Like instead of just saying how much lunacy those people who predict the end of the world contain, you might try pointing the masses to the actual truth–i.e. the BIBLE.

    You seem to be an intelligent individual who either was once part of the Church of God and left due to being let down by somebody, or were a member to some church that let you down in another way. Either way, you seem to be familiar with the bible and it’s truth, the only issues with religion being the people who call themselves “christians” and “believers”. You can hardly fault the bible itself, in it’s original meaning and translation.

    Anyway, the point is that the bible contains truths that we need to be showing people, things that God himself says about false prophets that will set our minds at ease. That’s why the bible exists as the Word of God–because it is the WORD OF GOD. It’s counterproductive to point people to disbelief with your own conclusions because your conclusions are flawed. That’s nothing against you as a person, it’s just a fact. If you start countering this man and his prophetic ramblings with any sort of biblical anything, you need to believe the bible as a whole. Otherwise you’re the one contradicting yourself.

    Sorry if it sounds like I’m saying you don’t believe the bible. I’m not. And I’m not going to debate whether you do or not. Please read on.

    This is my goal: here is a word directly from the Lord, found in the book of Jeremiah, chapter 23. No strings attached, no claims of prophecy by me or anybody, just the good ol’ Lord saying what He wants us to hear.

    “I have heard what the prophets say who prophesy lies in my name. They say, ‘I had a dream! I had a dream!’ How long will this continue in the hearts of these lying prophets, who prophesy the delusions of their own minds? They think the dreams they tell one another will make my people forget my name, just as their fathers forgot my name through Baal worship. Let the prophet who has a dream tell his dream, but let the one who has my word speak it faithfully. For what has straw to do with grain?” declares the LORD. “Is not my word like fire, ” declares the LORD, “and like a hammer that breaks a rock in pieces?

    “Therefore,” declares the LORD, “I am against the prophets who steal from one another words supposedly from me. Yes,” declares the LORD, “I am against the prophets who wag their own tongues and yet declare, ‘The LORD declares.’ Indeed, I am against those who prophesy false dreams,” declares the LORD. “They tell them and lead my people astray with their reckless lies, yet I did not send or appoint them. They do not benefit these people in the least,” declares the LORD.

    “When these people, or a prophet or a priest, ask you, ‘What is the oracle [spoken prophecy] of the LORD?’ say to them, ‘What oracle? I will forsake you, declares the LORD.’ If a prophet or priest or anyone else claims, ‘This is the oracle of the LORD,’ I will punish that man and his household. This is what each of you keeps on saying to his friends or relative: ‘What is the LORD’s answer?’ or ‘What has the LORD spoken?’ But you must not mention ‘the oracle of the LORD’ again, because every man’s own word becomes his oracle and so you distort the words of the living God, the LORD Almighty, our God.”

    After that it gets a little hard to follow, but basically it goes on to say that those who prophecy falsely and in God’s name will be put to everlasting shame and cast out of His presence.

    Back to this century.

    That is all that need be said. If this man is a false prophet, IF HIS WORDS ARE NOT THE WORD OF THE LORD GOD ALMIGHTY, it will become unwaveringly apparent at some point to all who follow him and they’ll have to deal with it on their own. It says in the bible that false prophets will rise in the end times. People WILL be deceived and the faith of MANY will be shaken and even completely disintegrated. It’s something that can’t be helped. I happen to believe it’s the end-times. Whether it’s 40 days or 40 years from now that we start seeing the climax of Revelation fulfilled, I think at some point in the next…oh let’s say twelve centuries just to be safe, we will see these things happen. But when it DOES happen there will be unyielding proof that it is the end that was revealed to John on the island of Patmos.

    We need to let those who want to believe, believe. And those who don’t will not. Because if people who believe are right, then they are right and they have glorious pre-knowledge of coming events in the near future. If they aren’t, NOTHING WILL HAPPEN. If people who don’t believe are wrong, THEN THEY ARE WRONG. The truth and the reality of the coming of Christ will come to pass when they are supposed to come to pass. We shouldn’t be speculating or discrediting or mocking or assuming anything about anybody because it’s either all RIGHT or all WRONG. Whether we know which one is reality doesn’t mean diddly because God’s plan is going to happen anyway, in His own time.

    It’s that simple.

    I respect the beliefs of everyone on this board, especially those of the author. I just believe that this topic and it’s tangents are quite possibly a waste of many people’s intellect and creativity as human beings, to be blunt. If that’s offensive, I sincerely apologize because like WW my intentions are purely benevolent. I’m not saying don’t listen to anything Ron says, or anything that WW says. I’m saying listen to the bible because that’s where the truth lies. Not on the internet, not from the minds of two extremes. The BIBLE.

    That is all. Love you guys, God bless y’all.

    Ian

    April 26, 2008 at 10:30 am

  4. I personally believe there is a place like this for a public shaming of false prophets like Weinland. The last thing this world needs are more posts with entire sentences in ALL CAPS proclaiming the TRUTH from the BIBLE.

    x-wcg

    April 26, 2008 at 12:58 pm

  5. Interesting comments from Ian. We left the Armstrong cults for the same reason. As far as we could determine no one was going by the scriptures. We were putting our trust in man, God says clearly not to do that. Also God said “if they speak not according to this word, they have no light in them.” None of them believe God. They have their own Bibles they teach from.

    greenhills48

    April 26, 2008 at 2:26 pm

  6. Don’t forget, it’s forty-nine “new truths”, not just nineteen anymore!

    And to the disinterested christian follower who posted the long screed, I’m leaving it be. As an example to others who do not have the first clue what they are talking about. This website’s target audience is not (primarily) the believers who follow Weinland without question. The target audience is their friends and family members who want to help them. And you clearly demonstrate your ignorance by A) Not reading the information provided in the links and B) Assuming you know everything there is to know about false prophets just because you can sufficiently bang your holy book and make a racket with it.

    It isn’t the false prophecies that are so much the bane of our existence, when it comes to Weinland (and if you knew anything about the WCG you would know that). It is that he is taking members’ MONEY (up to and more than 30% of their annual net income in some cases). That is the issue with the Church of God “ministries” that split off from the mothership once the WCG went down like the Titanic. They are tithe-farms. Nothing more.

    weinlandwatch

    April 26, 2008 at 2:29 pm

  7. Ok, thanks everybody. I obviously am not that informed about things of any nature 😦

    I just want to clear up that there isn’t one place where I tried to demonstrate my bottomless knowledge of false prophets. I simply pointed out one passage of the bible that says a lot of what needs to be said about them. That God will pass His own judgment and we should be focusing our energy elsewhere.

    But you’re right, I know that him and his church are taking all that money and it’s ridiculous. Complete lunacy (I wasn’t saying these people aren’t crazy). I just felt that the bible needed to be pointed out, for those who do look to it for comfort and a word from God (I’m sure there’s plenty who do that don’t leave comments or anything).

    Not condemning anybody. On re-reading what I wrote I totally could have been a little less blunt at the end. I apologize. It was 3:30 in the morning when I wrote it and I was a little fired up, in the spiritual sense. Hope you understand! I’ll lurk around and read more into the topics before I post again.

    Ian

    April 26, 2008 at 5:41 pm

  8. Ian, unless you were in it, one will not understand what one goes through. Especially if you ask a question then be belittled to ask it. We had to go on Ron’s word even when he changed wording in the Bible to change the meaning God wanted him to. (he says) For those of us who pray for the truth and yet not being able to have our own opinion is disheartening. I wanted to know the truth but we all had to be of one mind, which was told to us over and over again. If we weren’t we kept our mouths shut, for afraid of the wrath of Ron. To still have family in there, and yes they are with comfort, but they are told that Ron and God’s church comes first. I had to give up every friend in the outside sick world (as Ron called it) so they wouldn’t tell me false lies. I lost a few family members becuase i put the church first. Not my immediate family, but others who spoke against Ron. We all had to give up certain family members and friends. It was the only way to stay in one mind with our God family.
    It is hard to believe maybe to you that it can leave scars but it does. This is a way to vent. Maybe some get carried away, like me at times, but i have held it in for so long.
    I am telling you this with love not hate.
    When i left Ron wouldn’t let anyone contact me for i may have poison there minds against him. I wouldn’t have. I just wanted to keep their friendship with out talking church. But he said “NO ONE can fellowship with one that has been disfellowshipped”
    I believe we should all fellowship each other regardless of any religion or no religion at all. I have to say i do believe with all my heart Ron and Laura are working with Satan. And it is not becuase i think that of money. It is becuase he causes confusion, which with God there is no confusion.

    x-cog-pkg

    April 27, 2008 at 1:51 am


Comments are closed.

